about phony lid

 

A Masque of Infamy - Kelly Dessaint
      MORE INFO ON THIS TITLE

An autobiographical novel of punk rock salvation in small town Alabama.


 

Sex And Guts - Gene Gregorits and Lydia Lunch
      MORE INFO ON THIS TITLE

A collection of interviews, articles and short stories that charges headlong into the sleazy world of b-movies, exploitation, rock ‘n’ roll, smut and the celluloid underground.


 

The Bus - Steve Abee
      MORE INFO ON THIS TITLE

The Bus is a novel in the tradition of Miller, Kerouac and Whitman, a personal history set in Los Angeles, a lyrical journey down Sunset and Santa Monica Boulevards as the narrator travels through as many worlds as streets, from Echo Park to the ocean, to pick up his car from the auto mechanic. "Abee is the love-powered bullhorn blasting down from the altitudes" -Beck


 

Sleeveless - Joi Brozek
      MORE INFO ON THIS TITLE

The story of Lisha, a Long Island loner in the 80s who begins to disassociate reality after a self-induced abortion, imagining an army of Lisha-ites that follow her practice of carving designs into their skin with razor blades.


 

Unborn Again - S.A. Griffin
      MORE INFO ON THIS TITLE

"It's Saturday night after curfew, the bars are all closed, you're awake, lonely and dry -- the dark is too dark and the light blinds; no, wait, it's the world according to S.A. Griffin. First, he's dealing you savvy urban pathos from the bottom of a beer-stained deck. Then he's beefing it up with homages to that Chinaski dude. Then he's steeping you in the raunchiest need you'll ever want to ponder, or tickling your innards so hard you're wet with laughter. Moments seize you like the eyes of a desperate dreamer. Like the man says, 'Oh beautiful nowhere--welcome.'" -Wanda Coleman


 

Erratic Sleep in a Cold Hotel - Marie Kazalia
      MORE INFO ON THIS TITLE

...beyond the styles, definitions and jargon of poetry, there is a voice, a narrative that is the foundation of the craft -- a story that must be told... this one is by Marie Kazalia


Dillinger's Thompson - Todd Moore
      MORE INFO ON THIS TITLE

A selection from the incomparable epic, Dillinger, with selected noir poems and the essay, “Machine Gun Dreams,” which is the author’s take on Dillinger, the man, the poem and the myth of high speed death.


 

Memoirs of a Street Poet - Frank T. Rios
      MORE INFO ON THIS TITLE

A collection of new and selected works from one of the original Venice Beats, material stretching from the fifties to present. These image-based poems describe the sordid and romantic existence of the Venice scene in the 60s to 70s, when Rios and other beat oriented poets devoted their lives to the muse and did whatever it took to get the words down. With a foreword by a fellow Venice Beat, the late John Thomas.